Council of Experts on Climate Change (Germany)

With the 2019 Climate Action Law, Germany introduced this independent five-person council made up of experts on climate science, environment, social issues, and the economy. The council annually examines the greenhouse gas emissions data from the previous year and assesses government programmes to tackle missed targets. Every two years, the group assesses Germany's emissions trends and climate action.

The five members are
Marc Oliver Bettzüge, professor of economics at the University of Cologne and managing director of the  Institute of Energy Economics (EWI)
Thomas Heimer, professor of innovation management and project management at the RheinMain University of Applied Sciences
Hans-Martin Henning, director of the Fraunhofer Institute for Solar Energy Systems (ISE)
Brigitte Knopf, secretary general at the Mercator Research Institute on Global Commons and Climate Change (MCC), and
Barbara Schlomann, head of the Energy Policy Division in the Energy Policy and Energy Markets Competence Centre at the Fraunhofer Institute for Systems and Innovation Research (ISI)

Acronym: Council of Experts on Climate Change
Twitter: @ERK_Klima
Location: Germany

Journalism for the energy transition

Get our Newsletter
Join our Network
Find an interviewee