European Commission

Executive branch of the European Union

Executive branch of the European Union (EU), responsible for proposing legislation, implementing decisions, upholding the EU treaties and managing the EU’s day-to-day business. Operates as a cabinet government with 27 members (College of Commissioners) and an administrative body of about 32,000 European civil servants that represents the general interest of the EU. The European Commission president Ursula von der Leyen took office in 2019.

Twitter: @EU_Commission
Location: EU

Journalism for the energy transition

Get our Newsletter
Join our Network
Find an interviewee